December 2016

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

REQUIRED: Insert Table of Contents Here

Farm Storage Facility Loans

Foreign Buyers Notification

Guaranteed Loan Program

Filing a Notice of Loss

2017 Acreage Reporting Dates

Double-Cropping

Guaranteed Conservation Loans

Farmers to Receive Documentation of USDA Services

Selected Interest Rates for

Mississippi State FSA Newsletter

USDA Mississippi
State Farm Service
Agency

6311 Ridgewood Rd., Suite
W100 Jackson, MS 39211
Phone: 601-965-4300

Fax: 844-325-6966

Web: www.fsa.usda.gov/ms

State Committee:
Orlando Kilcrease, Ph.D
Paul Myrick

Kenneth Oswalt
Sterling Withers

State Executive Director:
Michael R. Sullivan

Next State Committee
Meeting 12/14/2016

Farm Storage Facility Loans

FSA’s Farm Storage Facility Loan (FSFL) program provides low-
interest financing to producers to build or upgrade storage facilities.

The low-interest funds can be used to build or upgrade permanent
facilities to store commaodities. Eligible commodities include corn,
grain sorghum, rice, soybeans, oats, peanuts, wheat, barley, minor
oilseeds harvested as whole grain, pulse crops (lentils, chickpeas
and dry peas), hay, honey, renewable biomass, fruits, nuts and
vegetables for cold storage facilities, floriculture, hops, maple sap,
rye, milk, cheese, butter, yogurt, meat and poultry (unprocessed),
eggs, and aquaculture (excluding systems that maintain live
animals through uptake and discharge of water). Qualified facilities
include grain bins, hay barns and cold storage facilities for eligible
commodities.

Loans up to $50,000 can be secured by a promissory note/security
agreement and some loans between $50,000 and $100,000 will no
longer require additional security.


https://content.govdelivery.com/accounts/USFSA/bulletins/177a6ca
http://www.fsa.usda.gov/ms

To find contact information for Producers do not need to demonstrate the lack of commercial

your local office go to credit availability to apply. The loans are designed to assist a

www.fsa.usda.gov/ms diverse range of farming operations, including small and mid-sized
businesses, new farmers, operations supplying local food and
farmers markets, non-traditional farm products, and underserved
producers.

To learn more about the FSA Farm Storage Facility Loan, visit
www.fsa.usda.gov/pricesupport or contact your local FSA county
office. To find your local FSA county office, visit
http://offices.usda.gov.

Foreign Buyers Notification

The Agricultural Foreign Investment Disclosure Act (AFIDA)
requires all foreign owners of U.S. agricultural land to report their
holdings to the Secretary of Agriculture. The Farm Service Agency
administers this program for USDA.

All individuals who are not U.S. citizens, and have purchased or
sold agricultural land in the county are required to report the
transaction to FSA with 90 days of the closing. Failure to submit the
AFIDA form (FSA-153) could result in civil penalties of up to 25
percent of the fair market value of the property. County government
offices, Realtors, attorneys and others involved in real estate
transactions are reminded to notify foreign investors of these
reporting requirements

Guaranteed Loan Program

FSA guaranteed loans allow lenders to provide agricultural credit to farmers who do not meet the
lender's normal underwriting criteria. Farmers and ranchers apply for a guaranteed loan through a
lender, and the lender arranges for the guarantee. FSA can guarantee up to 95 percent of the loss
of principal and interest on a loan. Guaranteed loans can be used for both farm ownership and
operating purposes.

Guaranteed farm ownership loans can be used to purchase farmland, construct or repair buildings,
develop farmland to promote soil and water conservation or to refinance debt.

Guaranteed operating loans can be used to purchase livestock, farm equipment, feed, seed, fuel,
farm chemicals, insurance and other operating expenses.

FSA can guarantee farm ownership and operating loans up to $1,399,000. Repayment terms vary
depending on the type of loan, collateral and the producer's ability to repay the loan. Operating
loans are normally repaid within seven years and farm ownership loans are not to exceed 40 years.

Please contact your lender or local FSA farm loan office for more information on guaranteed loans


http://www.fsa.usda.gov/ms
http://www.fsa.usda.gov/pricesupport
http://offices.usda.gov/

Filing a Notice of Loss

The CCC-576, Notice of Loss, is used to report failed acreage and prevented planting and may be
completed by any producer with an interest in the crop. Timely filing a Notice of Loss is required for
all crops including grasses. For losses on crops covered by the Non-Insured Crop Disaster
Assistance Program (NAP), you must file a CCC-576, Notice of Loss, in the FSA County Office
within 15 days of the occurrence of the disaster or when losses become apparent or 15 calendar
days after the normal harvest date.

Producers of hand-harvested crops must notify FSA of damage or loss through the administrative
County Office within 72 hours of the date of damage or loss first becomes apparent. This naotification
can be provided by filing a CCC-576, email, fax or phone. Producers who notify the County Office
by any method other than by filing the CCC-576 are still required to file a CCC-576, Notice of Loss,
within the required 15 calendar days.

If filing for prevented planting, an acreage report and CCC-576 must be filed within 15 calendar
days of the final planting date for the crop.

2017 Acreage Reporting Dates

In order to comply with FSA program eligibility requirements, all producers are encouraged to visit
their local FSA office to file an accurate crop certification report by the applicable deadline.

Acreage reporting dates vary by crop and by county so please contact your local FSA office for a list
of county-specific deadlines.

Mississippi Perennial Forage November 15
Fall-Seeded Small Grains December 15
Blueberries, Grapes, Peaches January 15
Pecans March 15
all other crops July 15

The following exceptions apply to acreage reporting dates:

o |f the crop has not been planted by the applicable acreage reporting date, then the acreage
must be reported no later than 15 calendar days after planting is completed.

e If a producer acquires additional acreage after the applicable acreage reporting date, then
the acreage must be reported no later than 30 calendars days after purchase or acquiring
the lease. Appropriate documentation must be provided to the county office.

e If a perennial forage crop is reported with the intended use of “cover only,” “green manure,”
“left standing,” or “seed,” then the acreage must be reported by July 15th.

Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program (NAP) policy holders should note that the acreage
reporting date for NAP covered crops is the earlier of the applicable dates or 15 calendar days
before grazing or harvesting of the crop begins.



For questions regarding crop certification and crop loss reports, please contact your local FSA
office.

Double-Cropping

Each year, state committees will review and approve or disapprove county committee
recommended changes or additions to specific combinations of crops.

Double-cropping is approved when the two specific crops have the capability to be planted and
carried to maturity for the intended use, as reported by the producer, on the same acreage within a
crop year under normal growing conditions. The specific combination of crops recommended by the
county committee must be approved by the state committee.

Double-cropping is approved in Mississippi on a county-by-county basis. Contact your local FSA
Office for a list of approved double-cropping combinations for your county.

A crop following a cover crop terminated according to termination guidelines is approved double
cropping and these combinations do not have to be approved by the state committee.

Guaranteed Conservation Loans

Guaranteed Conservation Loans are available for applicants to install a conservation practice.
These funds may be used for any conservation activities included in a conservation plan or Forest
Stewardship Management plan. A copy of the conservation plan is required to complete the
application. These loans are not limited to just family farmers. In some cases, applicants can
operate non-eligible enterprises. Loan funds are issued by a participating commercial lender and
guaranteed up to 80 percent by FSA or up to 90 percent for beginning and historically underserved
producers.

Farmers to Receive Documentation of USDA Services

Farm Service Agency (FSA) reminds agricultural producers that FSA provides a receipt to
customers who request or receive assistance or information on FSA programs.

The 2014 Farm Bill requires a customer receipt to be issued for any agricultural program assistance
requested from FSA, the National Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and Rural Development
(RD). Receipts include the date, summary of the visit and any agricultural information, program
and/or loan assistance provided to an individual or entity. Electronic receipts for acreage reports will
begin on August 1, 2016.

A service is any information, program or loan assistance provided whether through a visit, email, fax
or letter

Selected Interest Rates for

90-Day Treasury Bill .250

Farm Operating Loans — Direct 2.25



Farm Ownership Loans — Direct 3.25

Farm Ownership Loans — Direct Down Payment, Beginning Farmer or Rancher 1.50
Emergency Loans 3.25

Farm Storage Facility Loans (7 years) 1.75

Commodity Loans 1996-Present 1.75

Reasonable Accommodation: Persons with disabilities who require accommodations to attend or
participate in this meeting/event/function should contact Federal Relay Service at 1-800-877-8339

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender. To file a complaint of discrimination,
write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400
Independence Ave., SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer
Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).



